Webinar

Panel Discussion: 3D Cell Cultures, from Development to Drug Discovery

Friday 19 June 2020
07:00 am PDT | 10:00 am EDT | 15:00 BST | 16:00 CEST

Over the last decade, 3D cell culture has become more widely used, because compared to 2D cell culture, it better represents in vivo tissue. For example, 3D tumor spheroids are more representative of in vivo tumors compared to 2D models, because inner cells have less access to nutrients and oxygen compared to the outer cells.

Also in 3D cell culture, cells often have greater resistance to drug treatment and metabolize drugs better than in 2D cultures, thus giving a more accurate representation of a drug’s effects in vivo.

Using 3D culture has many advantages, but there are challenges, as well.

A group of experts will discuss how they use 3D cell cultures, the challenges they experience, and their best practices and key techniques when working with these cultures.

The discussion will also include:

  • Techniques for producing 3D cell cultures
  • Challenges in the production of 3D cell cultures
  • The application of 3D cell cultures in drug development
  • What is next for 3D cell cultures
  • Ethical considerations in the use of 3D cell culture

Register Now

Panelists:

Kalpana Barnes
Manager, Cell Imaging Applications
Sartorius, United Kingdom

Marta Shahbazi
Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Cambridge, United Kingdom

David L. Spector
Professor and Director of Research
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, NY, United States

Robert Vries
CEO, Hubrecht Organoid Technology
Utrecht, The Netherlands

No file selected
0%
Stay up-to-date with what's happening at Essen BioScience

© 2020 Essen BioScience

Privacy Policy