Webinar

Live-Cell Analysis of Human Neuron-Glial Cell Co-cultures

25 February 2021
08:00 am PT | 11:00 am ET | 16:00 GMT | 17:00 CET

Genome-wide association studies have identified genetic associations between multiple immune genes (e.g. TREM2, CD33) and Alzheimer’s disease (AD), highlighting a role for neuroinflammation in dementia. In addition astrocytes, which are known to play a vital role in synapse formation, neuronal survival and network plasticity, are increasingly viewed as important participants in the pathophysiology of many CNS diseases.

Consequently, modulation of glial cell activity and/or neuron-glia communication, presents an interesting therapeutic approach for a number of neurodegenerative/neuropsychiatric conditions.

As there are several key differences between rodent and human glia, which likely impact the translation of findings from rodent systems, there is a need for disease-relevant, fully human, predictive models, to support preclinical development of new medicines, targeting different areas of neurodegenerative disease.

Elucidating these complex pathways requires robust model systems, to enable testing and development of novel molecules.

In this webinar, the generation and characterization of fully human iPSC-derived in vivo co-culture models at Talisman Therapeutics will be discussed, highlighting the utility and importance of such models to support preclinical drug discovery.

Key webinar discussion topics include:

  • The generation and characterization of human iPSC-derived neurons and glia in mono- and co-culture
  • How live-cell analysis combined with complex cell-based models, can provide insights into disease-relevant biology
  • An explanation of how the presence of glia can influence neuronal network maturation and activity
  • Live questions and answers

Register Here

Speaker:

Dr. Tom Campbell
Senior Scientist
Talisman Therapeutics

Dr. Tom Campbell is a Senior Scientist at Talisman Therapeutics, a neurodegenerative disease drug discovery company, that utilizes human stem cell models of dementia, to provide a transformative platform for rapid and relevant target identification and validation. He is responsible for conducting experimental work and managing ongoing internal and collaborative project activities.

Tom is an experienced cell and molecular biologist with a multidisciplinary background. He received his PhD in oncology at the University of Manchester (CASE studentship with AstraZeneca). He then completed a Postdoctoral Research Associate position at Cancer Research UK, prior to joining Talisman Therapeutics in 2017.

No file selected
0%
Stay up-to-date with what's happening at Essen BioScience

© 2021 Essen BioScience

Privacy Policy